Voice Recognition

Athletic Hall of Fame


Dear Montezuma Community,

The Hall of Fame Committee would like to invite you to submit nominations for the 2022 Montezuma Athletic Hall of Fame. The document for this process is attached here.  This procedure allows the committee to continue to review and revise potential candidates.  Thank you for taking the time to share in the great tradition of Montezuma Athletics.  Please send nominations by May 12th, 2022 to either:

Montezuma High School
c/o Hall of Fame Committee
PO BOX 580
Montezuma, IA 50171

OR Email: [email protected]

The Hall of Fame Committee appreciates your help and support of our school and community.  Please contact Tim Burgess with additional questions. Thank you.


Tim Burgess

MHS Athletic Hall of Fame

1948 Braves Football Team
1968-1969 Bravettes Basketball Team 
1969-1970 Bravettes Basketball Team
1970-1971 Braves Basketball Team
1970-1971 Bravettes Basketball Team 
1971-1972 Boys Track Team 
1981 Girls Cross Country Team 
1989-1990 Braves Basketball Team
1987 Boys Track Team  


Individual Hall of Fame

Charles Barg - Class of 1926
Johnny Thurber - Class of 1949 
Carl Van Cleave - Class of 1950 
Bill Bolen - Class of 1954
Dahl Wickham - Class of 1957 
Don Ferneau - Class of 1968 
Carolyn Little Simmons - Class of 1969 
Mike Mitchell - Class of 1973
JoEllen Mitchell - Class of 1975  
Laine (Lundy) Korver - Class of 1976 
Larry Baethke - Class of 1977 
Deb (Kercheval) Holte - Class of 1983 
Carmela Green - Class of 1984 
Lance Elliott - Class of 1989 
Rich Grife - Class of 1990
Jamie Arendt - Class of 1990
Scott Rabenold - Class of 1993 
Janel (Grimm) Burgess - Class of 1994 
Luke Thompson - Class of 2007 
Katie (Maschmann) Thomason – Class of 2016 
Ruth Fleming – Class of 1979 
Marty James - Class of 1989 
Brad Arendt - Class of 1989  
Coach Darrell Brand 
Coach I.A. Gabriel
Coach Al Rabenold 
Coach Carroll Rugland 
Coach Tony DiCecco
Coach Ron Willrich 
Coach Jerry Rohach 
Coach Dennis Wilson 
© 2024. Montezuma Community Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website